Stavros' Annual Access Awards

Every year Stavros sends a survey to consumers asking for nominations for local places that really go the extra mile for people with disabilities.  A dedicated group of staff and volunteers review the nominations and conduct site visits. Although we know no place is perfect these are the places we found to have done wonderful things for access.



2019 Access Awards!

This year’s Winske Awards for accessibility design in both space and service go to: Mosaic Café  in Northampton, Safe Passage of Northampton’s community offices, Roberto’s Restaurant in Northampton, the Riverside Park Trail in Sunderland, the Bittersweet Bakery & Café in Deerfield, the Forest Park Library in Springfield, and the South End Community Center in Springfield.


In addition to the businesses and community organizations granted awards this year, individuals who have made a significant difference in creating access for people with disabilities are also honored.


In 2019, Stavros appreciates and gives special mention to Ohana Dance Studio, Hyman Darling Esq., Reverend Anne Strickert, Karen Foster at All Out Adventures, Sandy Haigh, Ryan Kincaid at Center for Human Development, Brittany Meadows at CleanSlate Outpatient Addiction Medicine, Christine Moriarty at the Registry of Nurses, Angela Parks of Parks Academy of Taekwondo, Mary Jo Wagner who is the occupational therapist of the collaborative community wheelchair clinic, and Freckled Fox Café in Florence.


The Bill McCarthy Award, recognizing legislators who are keeping the disability community at the forefront of their work, goes to Senator Jo Comerford

The Home Sweet Home Hero, celebrating people who are contributing to independence for people with disabilities, goes to Bill and Kumi Martin.

The Martineau Award, celebrating those who have made a big impact in improving services, access, and opportunities in their communities, goes to Glenn Hartmann.

A Friend of Stavros Award also goes to Jim Palleschi.


Stavros was founded in Amherst in 1974 as an independent living center to assist persons with disabilities and Deaf people develop the tools and skills they need to take charge of their own lives. Their programs and services increase resources for independence for youth, adults, and elders with disabilities, and help to build and support integrated, healthy communities to benefit all. Stavros is a member agency of the United Way of Franklin County, and also advocates throughout the Pioneer Valley, across the state, and nationally to bring an end to discrimination against people with disabilities.


The Access Awards ceremony honoring the 2019 recipients was held Thursday October 17th at the Log Cabin in Holyoke, Massachusetts.


Cara Schulte from Human Rights Watch spoke about the impacts of climate change on people with disabilities.


Check out pictures from the event on Facebook!

* * *

* * *

Access Award Winners – 2018

Paul Winske Awards

Belchertown Veterinary Hospital

Blueprint Gallery

Community Pharmacy

D.A.R. State Forest- Goshen

First Congregational Church-Amherst


Greenfield Community College Garden

The Gunnery Sgt. Jeff Ames Accessible Nature Trail

Hitchcock Center

Just Roots

Northampton Survival Center

Pulse Café

Raymond A. Jordan Pine Point Senior Center

Aleisha Brown JCPenney Salon at Hampshire Mall

Alzheimer’s Music Project

Andrea Bertini

Andrea Lee

Autism Allies

Dopa-Fit Parkinson’s Wellness Center

Donna Wood Sholberg

Emily Graef

Gary Lincoln

Kelly Phillips

Kirk Burkins

Lavar Click

Lisa Rivera

Lynette Howard

Robert Hewes

Sarah Detenber, LICSW

Steve Rocco

Sue Shea

Stacy Troy

Stephanie Moore

Friends of Stavros

Morey Phippen and Brian Adams

Ted Martineau Award

Donald Vadnais

Bill McCarthy Award

State Representative Carlos Gonzalez

Home Sweet Home Heroes

Edward ‘Ned’ Deane

Peter Deane

Thanks to our sponsor USI -The Gaudreau Goup

Our Keynote speaker Heather Watkins

Picture of Heather Watkins face wearing a pearl necklace and looking up and smiling

Thanks To Our Sponsor USI